Home>Stores & Events>Event Details

Event Details


Virtual Thursday, May 05, 2022 7:00 PM ET

Steve Almond discuss ALL THE SECRETS OF THE WORLD with Cheryl Strayed


About this Event

Join Barnes & Noble as we welcome bestselling authorSteve Almond for a live, virtual discussion of his new book,ALL THE SECRETS OF THE WORLD. A sweeping social novel,ALL THE SECRETS OF THE WORLD introduces readers to a cast of indelible characters while illuminating the moment in our national history when the call for law and order became the dominant force within our public life.

For fans of both Little Fires Everywhere and Breaking Bad, Steve Almond’s long-awaited debut novel is a propulsive tour de force—the sheer scope, moral complexities, and piercing insights mark a writer at the height of his powers.

“I devoured All the Secrets of the World in a couple of big, greedy bites. It is at once a media critique, a coming-of-age story, a meticulously plotted police procedural, an exploration of racial paranoia, and a haunting account of lust and longing on the fringes of what is allowable. Most of all, it’s a deeply compassionate book that shows how policies can trickle down into the lives of individuals and strip them of their humanity.” --Anthony Doerr, author of Cloud Cuckoo Land and All the Light We Cannot See

Steve Almond will be in conversation with Cheryl Strayed for this special event!

------------------------

This is a live, ticketed event. You must have a ticket to gain access. Please be sure your correct email is listed when you purchase and that your Eventbrite settings include updates on this event.

Ticket information:

**There are two ticket options:

  • SIGNED BOOK ADMISSION - $35.74 (Admission + Signed Book/tax/shipping): A ticket PER PERSON includes a signed copy ofALL THE SECRETS OF THE WORLDand admission to the virtual event space with Steve Almond andCheryl Strayed.
  • ***FOR BOOK-BASED TICKETS: This is for US-based customers ONLY, excluding Puerto Rico, and all international addresses. Any non US orders or Puerto Rico mailing addresses will be cancelled and refunded. We cannot ship to PO Boxes.
    • Please allow ample time for delivery. Due to complications around shipping during the pandemic, delays can be common. All tickets include the cost of shipping to domestic addresses only.
      • Books will be mailed following the completion of the live event; please allow ample time for shipping. Books should arrive in 8-10 business days.
  • Each registration must have a different email associated with it to gain entry. Please be sure your correct email is listed when you register and that your Eventbrite settings include updates on this event.

Event Details:

  • This event will air as a Zoom Webinar. You must be logged into Eventbrite with the email in which you purchased the ticket to access the event. We highly recommend you create an Eventbrite account, as well as download Zoom & familiarize yourself prior to the event for the best possible experience.
    • Access to the event will become available on the day of the event, Thursday, May 5 at 7:00 PM ET / 6:00 PM CT / 5:00 PM MT / 4:00 PM PT.
    • Access to the event will become available via:
        • The OPEN IN ZOOM (highly recommended) or JOIN NOW buttons in your Eventbrite account (found under “Tickets” à “Go to online event page”) OR your event ticket confirmation email.
        • You will receive reminder emails from Eventbrite before the event. You may also access the event through the reminder email, HOWEVER YOU MUST BE SIGNED INTO EVENTBRITE WITH THE EMAIL IN WHICH YOU PURCHASED THE TICKET.
        • You may be asked to re-enter the email in which you purchased this ticket to re-validate.

Guidelines:

  • Disruptive Conduct: Barnes & Noble wants to create a safe virtual space for all. You acknowledge and agree that Barnes & Noble reserves the right to remove you from the Virtual Event if B&N, in its sole discretion, determines that your participation or behavior create a disruption or hinder the Virtual Event or the enjoyment of the Virtual Event content by other attendees.
  • By registering for a paid Barnes & Noble Virtual Event Ticket, you agree not to share, sell or trade your access. If Barnes & Noble determines that you have violated this policy, B&N may cancel your access, retain any payments made by you, and ban you from future Virtual Events.
  • Recording, Live Streaming, and Videotaping. Participants may not record or broadcast audio or video of Barnes & Noble Virtual Events.

Please note that Eventbrite is the only authorized dealer for this event. Each person must have a ticket to enter.

Refunds:

We cannot guarantee a replay of the program. Please keep this in mind before purchasing a ticket. There will be no refunds for missing the live event.

Event guidelines are subject to change.

Join Barnes & Noble for future virtual events! See our upcoming line-up here.

_______________________________________________________________________

Special Instructions
Please note the timezone for the event and be sure to apply it to yours. We look forward to "seeing" you there!
Facebook    Instagram    Twitter

 

Add to calendar

Featured Events

Jack Carr discusses IN THE BLOOD #MiddayMystery
Virtual
Thursday, May 19, 2022 3:00 PM ET
Author Event, Special Event
VIEW DETAILS
Katie Cotugno celebrates BIRDS OF CALIFORNIA -- our May Fiction Monthly Pick -- with Taylor Jenkins Reid!
Virtual
Tuesday, May 24, 2022 7:00 PM ET
Author Event, Special Event
VIEW DETAILS
Xiran Jay Zhao discusses IRON WIDOW, our 2022 YA Book Award Winner, with Elizabeth Lim!
Virtual
Wednesday, May 25, 2022 7:00 PM ET
Author Event, Special Event
VIEW DETAILS
Romy Hausmann celebrates SLEEPLESS!
Virtual
Tuesday, May 31, 2022 3:00 PM ET
Author Event, Special Event
VIEW DETAILS
Jennifer Saint discusses ELEKTRA #BN Book Club
Virtual
Tuesday, June 07, 2022 3:00 PM ET
Author Event, Special Event
VIEW DETAILS
Anna Bailey celebrates WHERE THE TRUTH LIES with Megan Collins #BNMiddayMystery
Virtual
Tuesday, June 14, 2022 2:00 PM ET
Author Event, Special Event
VIEW DETAILS
Julie Clark celebrates THE LIES I TELL with Grace Atwood #BNMiddayMystery
Virtual
Monday, June 20, 2022 3:00 PM ET
Author Event, Special Event
VIEW DETAILS
James Patterson discuss JAMES PATTERSON BY JAMES PATTERSON - an Exclusive B&N Member Event
Virtual
Monday, June 20, 2022 7:00 PM ET
Author Event, Special Event
VIEW DETAILS
Juno Dawson celebrates HER MAJESTY'S ROYAL COVEN with Samantha Shannon!
Virtual
Tuesday, June 21, 2022 6:00 PM ET
Author Event, Special Event
VIEW DETAILS
Hilary Mantel discusses LEARNING TO TALK with Bill Goldstein
Virtual
Wednesday, June 22, 2022 7:00 PM ET
Author Event, Special Event
VIEW DETAILS
Riley Sager discusses THE HOUSE ACROSS THE LAKE with Megan Miranda
Virtual
Wednesday, June 29, 2022 3:00 PM ET
Author Event, Special Event
VIEW DETAILS
Ashley Poston celebrates THE DEAD ROMANTICS!
Virtual
Tuesday, July 26, 2022 7:00 PM ET
Author Event, Special Event
VIEW DETAILS
Zoraida Córdova discusses THE INHERITANCE OF ORQUÍDEA DIVINA with Rebecca Roanhorse!
Virtual
Wednesday, July 27, 2022 7:00 PM ET
Author Event, Special Event
VIEW DETAILS