Home>Stores & Events>Event Details

Event Details


Virtual Wednesday, November 09, 2022 3:00 PM ET

Janice Hallett celebrates THE APPEAL Hank Phillippi Ryan #BNMiddayMystery


About this Event
“[W]itty, original...a delight.” —Th?e New York Times

Join Barnes & Noble as we welcome international bestselling author, Janice Hallett, for a live, virtual discussion of THE APPEAL, as part of our B&N Midday Mystery Virtual Event series. In this gripping murder mystery, a community rallies around a sick child—but when escalating lies lead to a dead body, everyone is a suspect.

Janice Hallettwill be in conversation withUSA Today bestselling author, Hank Phillippi Ryan.

Order your copy of the author's book now!

Janice Hallett's THE APPEAL Trade Paperback-- on-sale November 1, 2022

-------------------------

Event Details:

  • This is a live, free event. Registration is required to attend.
    • Each registration must have a different email associated with it to gain entry. Please be sure your correct email is listed when you register and that your Eventbrite settings include updates on this event.
      • This event will air as a Zoom Webinar. You MUST BE SIGNED INTO EVENTBRITE WITH THE EMAIL IN WHICH YOU PURCHASED THE TICKET to access the event. We highly recommend you CREATE AN EVENTBRITE ACCOUNT, as well as DOWNLOAD ZOOM & familiarize yourself prior to the event for the best possible experience.
      • Access to the event will become available on the afternoon of the event, Wednesday, November 9, at 3 PM ET / 2 PM CT / 1 PM MT / 12 PM PT.
        • Access to the event will become available via:
              • OPEN IN ZOOM button in your Eventbrite account (found under “Tickets” --> “Go to online event page”) OR your event ticket confirmation email.
              • Two hours prior to the event, you will receive a separate email FROM ZOOM with a personalized access link. You may also use this to enter the event.
              • You will receive reminder emails from Eventbrite before the event. You may also access the event through the reminder email, HOWEVER YOU MUST BE SIGNED INTO EVENTBRITE WITH THE EMAIL IN WHICH YOU PURCHASED THE TICKET.
              • You may be asked to re-enter the email in which you purchased this ticket to re-validate.

Guidelines:

  • Disruptive Conduct: Barnes & Noble wants to create a safe virtual space for all. You acknowledge and agree that Barnes & Noble reserves the right to remove you from the Virtual Event if B&N, in its sole discretion, determines that your participation or behavior create a disruption or hinder the Virtual Event or the enjoyment of the Virtual Event content by other attendees.
  • Recording, Live Streaming, and Videotaping. Participants may not record or broadcast audio or video of Barnes & Noble Virtual Events.

Please note that Eventbrite is the only authorized dealer for this event. Each person must be registered to enter.

We cannot guarantee a replay of the program. Please keep this in mind before registering for a ticket.

Event guidelines are subject to change.

Join Barnes & Noble for future virtual events! See our upcoming line-up here.

----------------------------------------------------------------------

ABOUT THE APPEAL

The Fairway Players, a local theatre group, is in the midst of rehearsals when tragedy strikes the family of director Martin Hayward and his wife Helen, the play’s star. Their young granddaughter has been diagnosed with a rare form of cancer, and with an experimental treatment costing a tremendous sum, their castmates rally to raise the money to give her a chance at survival.

But not everybody is convinced of the experimental treatment’s efficacy—nor of the good intentions of those involved. As tension grows within the community, things come to a shocking head at the explosive dress rehearsal. The next day, a dead body is found, and soon, an arrest is made. In the run-up to the trial, two young lawyers sift through the material—emails, messages, letters—with a growing suspicion that the killer may be hiding in plain sight. The evidence is all there, between the lines, waiting to be uncovered.

A wholly modern and gripping take on the epistolary novel, The Appeal is a “daring...clever, and funny” (The Times, London) debut for fans of Richard Osman and Lucy Foley.

ABOUT JANICE HALLETT

Janice Hallett is a former magazine editor, award-winning journalist, and government communications writer. She wrote articles and speeches for, among others, the Cabinet Office, Home Office, and Department for International Development. Her enthusiasm for travel has taken her around the world several times, from Madagascar to the Galapagos, Guatemala to Zimbabwe, Japan, Russia, and South Korea. A playwright and screenwriter, she penned the feminist Shakespearean stage comedy NetherBard and cowrote the feature film Retreat. She lives in London and is the author of The Appeal and The Twyford Code.

ABOUT HANK PHILLIPPI RYAN

Special Instructions

Please note the timezone for the event and be sure to apply it to yours. We look forward to "seeing" you there!
Facebook    Instagram    Twitter

 

Add to calendar

Featured Events

Louise Penny discusses A WORLD OF CURIOSITIES with Hillary Rodham Clinton
Virtual
Monday, December 05, 2022 7:00 PM ET
Author Event, Special Event
VIEW DETAILS
Katy Hays discusses THE CLOISTERS our November #BNBookClub selection
Virtual
Tuesday, December 06, 2022 3:00 PM ET
Author Event, Special Event
VIEW DETAILS
Holly Black celebrates THE STOLEN HEIR, her return to the world of Elfhame!
Virtual
Wednesday, January 04, 2023 7:00 PM ET
Author Event, Special Event
VIEW DETAILS
Grady Hendrix celebrates HOW TO SELL A HAUNTED HOUSE #BNMiddayMystery
Virtual
Tuesday, January 17, 2023 3:00 PM ET
Author Event, Special Event
VIEW DETAILS
Christopher Golden celebrates ROAD OF BONES #BNMiddayMystery
Virtual
Monday, January 23, 2023 3:00 PM ET
Author Event, Special Event
VIEW DETAILS
Talia Hibbert talks HIGHLY SUSPICIOUS AND UNFAIRLY CUTE with Nicola & David Yoon!
Virtual
Monday, January 23, 2023 7:00 PM ET
Author Event, Special Event
VIEW DETAILS
Douglas Preston and Lincoln Child celebrates THE CABINET OF DR. LENG #BNMiddayMystery
Virtual
Tuesday, January 24, 2023 3:00 PM ET
Author Event, Special Event
VIEW DETAILS